BaselineWatch
Desk

AIOS-27-014300 Apple iOS/iPadOS 27 must disable the ability of the user to wipe the device.

DISA STIG library V1R1
All changes in this version
first version loaded CAT II

Maps to CM-6 via CCI-000366

Title

Apple iOS/iPadOS 27 must disable the ability of the user to wipe the device.

Control

Review configuration settings to confirm "Allow Erase All Content and Settings" is disabled. This is a supervised-only control. If the iPhone or iPad being reviewed is not supervised by the MDM, this control is automatically a finding. If the iPhone or iPad being reviewed is supervised by the MDM, follow these procedures: This check procedure is performed on both the device management tool and the iPhone and iPad device. Note: If an organization has multiple configuration profiles, the check procedure must be performed on the relevant configuration profiles applicable to the scope of the review. In the iOS/iPadOS management tool, verify "Allow erase all content and settings" is unchecked. On the iPhone/iPad device: 1. Open the Settings app. 2. Tap "General". 3. Tap "VPN & Device Management". 4. Tap the Configuration Profile from the iOS management tool containing the restrictions policy. 5. Tap "Restrictions". 6. Verify "Erase content and settings not allowed" is listed. If "Allow erase all content and settings" is not disabled in the management tool, or on the Apple device "Erase content and settings not allowed" is not listed, this is a finding.

Discussion

This feature must be disabled to comply with DoW electronic records retention requirements for mobile devices. Otherwise, mobile device users could wipe the device, which would violate DoW policy. SFR ID: FMT_MOF_EXT.1.2 #47

Related controls

CCI-000366

Fix

Install a configuration profile to disable "Allow Erase All Content and Settings". This is a supervised-only control. Configuration Profile Key: allowEraseContentAndSettings